Alison Moore
3 min readOct 15, 2022

--

My Little Garden 15th Oct 2022

The leaves are falling from the trees, bulb planting and autumn tidy ups have commenced, and I’m just hoping that it’s dry and cold enough for me to finish off most of my outdoor jobs by the end of October. I like to have November off work if I can, so I can concentrate on other ‘exciting’ tasks like paperwork and doing the accounts.

Anyway, before I start wishing the next two weeks away, here’s six things that have been happening in the garden this week.

  1. Blue

Now I know this might not look like much, but when I first planted this Salvia ‘Black and Blue’ in summer, it was decimated overnight by the voraciously hungry slug army that inhabit my garden. Miraculously it survived but until this week the flowers were just black and the blue was completely absent. Now I have a touch of blue!

2. More blue

To continue with the blue theme, here’s a very useful autumn blue in the form of Ceratostigma plumbaginoides. Lovely blue autumn flowers and pretty foliage.

3. Something that was blue

The flowers of Eurybia × herveyi, formerly known as Aster ‘Twilight’ were blue in the summer, but now they are little pom poms of autumnal fluffiness.

4. Pink

But enough of the blues, let’s go pink. Symphyotrichum novi-belgii 'Winston S. Churchill, also formerly known as an aster is looking rather impressive this year.

5. More pink

This year it has been joined by one of similar colour but shorter stature which was going spare at the garden centre. Symphyotrichum novi-belgii Tonga (’Dasfour’) (Island Series) has a name that’s far too long for such a petite little aster, but the wildlife seem to approve.

6. And a final pink

A lovely dahlia where the separate petals have been used for different purposes by the caterpillar: dining, bedroom and bathroom. So tidy!

And that’s it folks. The colour is fading as every week goes by now, but there’s the bulb planting to enjoy before the garden has it’s winter sleep. Have a great weekend and thanks for reading. There’s lots more sixes on twitter in the form of blogs and photo collages, all started a few years back by The Propagator. https://thepropagatorblog.wordpress.com/

--

--